Home > Uncategorized > Marketing for life

Marketing for life

Marketing for life, what’s your customer worth to You?

No I don’t mean in terms of Marketing for life is like a puppy, it’s not just for Christmas it’s for life. I mean in terms of Customer Life Time Value.

Life time value of customers is an area that’s often over looked.

This isn’t just relevant in the business world but in the real world of work, particularly in people in sales roles.

It’s easy to fall into the trap of viewing each customer on a transaction to transaction basis. What I mean by this is that each customer is judged on individual transactions, with the bigger picture never being looked at.

Most businesses and people in sales roles generally want to see repeat business. But treat there customers based on single transactions instead of viewing them as a customer for life, one who may buy again and again and have the potential to buy in greater quantities.

Let me give you an example, Real Estate.

A few years ago I started buying property and had found an area that I was happy to invest and develop property in. I called up a few real estates in the area to try and arrange some viewings and some more back ground information on the area.

One real estate guy stood out. He offered me a full day of viewings and to drive me around the area and give me more local information. He also arranged to show me examples of properties that had been redeveloped for some ideas as well as examples of properties that his office had rented out under their management.

For a real estate, sorry real estate people, he stood out a mile as someone who viewed me in terms of the bigger picture and not just a one off sale.

So how has that benefited him doing it this way?

Well I brought three properties from him after that one visit, rented them all out with his company. I also went onto buy after two properties and now only deal with him on all my purchases, sales, developments and rentals of my properties in the area.

All because he could see the bigger picture, The Life Time Value of the customer. Clever? or just putting a little more thought into this process?

I think taking a leaf out this guys book is something we should all consider if we want happy, profitable long term relationships with the customers we have now and our customers of tomorrow.

Can it be that easy? Let me know your thoughts and experiences. Thanks, Tim.

  1. August 19, 2010 at 11:23 am

    it made me tingle

  2. August 19, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    Hi Tim
    Great post. Something I believe in whole heartedly. In marketing, in business, in your personal life……go the extra mile, be genuine and treat people well and the rewards will be outstanding. I believe we should treat people with respect and always aim to see the bigger picture. Time well spent in the beginning of a business relationship will set up a solid relationship long term and you will no doubt have an onging Win/Win for both parties concerned.
    Great example of your real estate agent. I’m sure he’s very happy he took the time to spend with you that day.
    Sue

  3. August 20, 2010 at 11:50 am

    supurb and meaningful! So true… thanks for this post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

